Husbands Who Resist Change

I Had to Laugh

--

Photo by Cut Collective on Unsplash

I learned a trick a long time ago. If there is something I would like my husband to do, I suggest that somebody else said it first. That’s all it takes. It smooths out bad and sad feelings. It’s just how he is.

If I say to him, which is happening right now, “As your bookkeeper, you should….” He shakes his head like a horse. I kid you not. Like a horse and doesn’t even let me finish my sentence. The next time I said it, I said, “As your accountant, you should…” Again, the same treatment.

I just realized the next time I say it, I will say, “Pam says blah, blah, blah.” See, Pam took over my job when I retired. She’s having about as much fun as I did, which isn’t saying much. I used to say it before I got the position. I would say, “Janice says…” Eventually, Janice retired, but I kept saying it for years. Who has more authority than somebody other than your wife?

It worked.

Why argue with success?

What reminded me of this was I happened to see an advertisement for waffle weave towels while I was reading the news. Actually, the ad was more exciting than the news, so I clicked the button. I knew about waffle weave towels. One of our kitchen towels is a waffle weave. It’s almost threadbare; it is so old, but it is one of my favorites. I can attest that…

--

--

Pauline Evanosky: writer, psychic, channel

I talk to dead guys. I have been a psychic channel since 1993. I love to write and hope you enjoy what I write about. Based in Oakland, California.